After a five-year hiatus, Australia will soon begin in first Test series in Sri Lanka.

Since that last time in 2011, the entire Australian contingent has turned over entirely, save for Nathan Lyon, Shaun Mark and Usman Khawaja.

The different line-up, guided by Steve Smith, is looking to repeat the series victory from 2011 and doing so would keep Australia on top of the ICC rankings.

The tour got off to a good start against a Sri Lankan Board XI. Steve O’Keefe was the star of that affair, the spinner taking ten wickets and posting the top score of 78 not out. It appears that he will be partnered with Nathan Lyon for a twin spin attack for the first Test.

At stake for the three Test series is the Warne-Muralitharan Trophy, which was inaugurated in 2007 – 2008.

Following the Test matches, the Australian team will play five one-dayers and two Twenty20 Internationals in Sri Lanka.

The first Test today will be at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium before moving on to Galle International Stadium for the second Test, and then concluding at the Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo beginning on 13 August.

The Aussie cricketers will be playing in Sri Lanka through 9 September.